Saturday, October 18, 2014

Dear Library Advocates,

A new school year has started and so have plans for a new Legislative Session at the Statehouse. It's time to renew your membership in Western Massachusetts Library Advocates! What, you're not a member? WMLA needs your help to speak up for libraries.

Our libraries are still struggling to keep up with demands for digital and print resources following severe funding cuts in 2009. Your membership in Western Massachusetts Library Advocates will help strengthen libraries through cooperative action and restoration of critical state funds. When we act together we can have a more powerful impact on statewide library developments.

WMLA was very active in the past year, connecting with legislators and bringing libraries together to take action. WMLA projects included:
  • Sponsored Legislative breakfasts at Springfield Technical Community College, Jones Library in Amherst, Holyoke Public Library, Storrs Library in Longmeadow, and collaborated with the Berkshire Breakfast Committee at the event in Williamstown. Over 200 people discussed library issues with their State Senators and Representatives.
  • Chartered a bus to Boston allowing 42 people to attend MLA Legislative Day where Amherst Senator Stanley Rosenberg was honored as Library Advocate of the Year.  The bus saves time, money and hassle for all attendees and brings an important group of advocates to the State House. 
  • Provided initial funding and negotiated licensing of Western Massachusetts newspaper back files for use by all of us in Western Massachusetts.
  • Distributed free Big E tickets and coupons from Friendly's and Yankee Candle for summer reading club prizes to 103 Western Massachusetts libraries and 163 libraries in the rest of the state.
  • Awarded scholarships to conferences, hosted author discussions, professional networking meetings, and much more.
Thanks to you, $3.5 million in funding for library state aid and technology was restored for Fiscal Year 2015. There is so much more to do. We are counting on you to join or renew your membership today!
John Ramsay, President 
Judy Clini, Past President
Susan San Soucie, Treasurer
Eric Poulin
Deb Kern
Mary Anne Antonellis
Cher Collins
Betty Johnson
Eliza Langhans
Dan Paquette
Jan Resnick

     Find us on

No comments:

Post a Comment